How we can help you

You want to make the most of your money. We can help.

We specialise in helping clients tackle issues and make the most of opportunities to protect and grow their wealth. We can help you create financial plans and investment portfolios that meet your personal and professional ambitions and aspirations.

Do you need a trust?

Not just the preserve of the very wealthy, used appropriately trusts are an extremely useful tool for protecting your assets and passing them on to beneficiaries. Importantly, one of the main benefits of a trust is to ensure that your estate is passed on in line with your wishes.

A trust is an effective way of managing assets (money, investments, land or buildings). They involve three parties – the settlor who puts assets into the trust, the trustees who manage the trust and the beneficiaries who benefit from the trust. 

Assets put into a trust may not count towards inheritance tax (IHT). But there are a number of types of trust and some do have to pay IHT in their own right while others have to pay income tax or capital gains tax – choosing the type of trust that’s right for you takes care and skill.

When you put assets into a trust, the trust may be subject to its own taxation rules, so, it is crucially important that the right one is chosen.

Other reasons why a trust might be the best solution for you include:

Passing on assets in line with your wishes
You may want to ensure your partner can live in a property but that when they die any property in the trust will pass to your children.

Providing for grandchildren
You may want to put aside money for the benefit of your grandchildren but leave it to the trustees (who could be the grandchildren’s parents) to decide how to divide the income and capital. Paying school fees and helping with the deposit on a first home are common goals.

Caring for the vulnerable
You may want to ensure a vulnerable loved one is cared for financially. They may have a disability or be an orphaned child and there may be less tax to pay on their income and profits from a trust.

We can talk you through the options and issues, and we are happy to work with your legal advisers to ensure that the right plan is in place.

Please note that this page was prepared as a general guide only and does not constitute tax or legal advice. While we believe it to be correct at the time of writing, Brewin Dolphin is not a tax adviser and tax law is subject to frequent change. Tax treatment depends on your individual circumstances; therefore you should not rely on this information without seeking financial advice.

No trust strategy is suitable in all cases and if you have any doubts as to a trust's suitability then you should contact us.

Becoming a client

Becoming a client of Brewin Dolphin gives you direct access to the team of professionals looking after your affairs and managing your money, as well as a host of other benefits.

Find out more
Fees & charges

From investment management to financial planning - we are fully committed to being fair and transparent in the way we charge for our work for you.

Find out more

How can we help?

020 3201 3900

01224 267 900

Graeme Bowden

07880 087347

graeme.bowden@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

028 9044 6000

Stephen Cartwright

02890 446004

Stephen.Cartwright@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0121 710 3500

Paul Cox

07768 164067

paul.cox@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01202 312 500

Andy Wheeler

07771 724625

A.Wheeler@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0117 968 9500

Jason Williams

07766 725268

jason.williams@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3050

Ross Slater

07920 590425

ross.slater@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

029 2034 0100

James Gadd

07833 048452

james.gadd@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01242 577 677

Jason Williams

07766 725268

jason.williams@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

+353 (0)1 260 0083

Suzanne Cashin

00353 1 2682837

Suzanne.Cashin@TilmanBrewin.ie

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01382 317 200

Graeme Bowden

07880 087347

graeme.bowden@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01473 267200

Ross Slater

07920 590425

ross.slater@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0131 225 2566

Graeme Bowden

07880 087347

graeme.bowden@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01392 440 450

Philip Thitchener

07920 190683

philip.thitchener@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0141 221 7733

Maxine Anderson

07901 977929

maxine.anderson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01534 703 000

Antony Champion

07557 480075

antony.champion@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0113 245 9341

Owen Woolfitt

07920 801390

owen.woolfitt@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0116 242 0700

Paul Jackson

07500 797776

paul.jackson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01522 503 000

Paul Jackson

07500 797776

paul.jackson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3900

London Sales Support

0203 201 3363

londonsalessupport@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0161 839 4222

David Ryan

07795 665861

david.ryan@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01672 519 600

Susan Hazelwood

07920 496265

susan.hazelwood@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0191 279 7300

Lucie Gordon

0191 279 7325

lucie.gordon@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0115 852 5580

Paul Jackson

07500 797776

paul.jackson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01865 255 750

Susan Hazelwood

07920 496265

susan.hazelwood@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01768 861 710

Lucie Gordon

07467 339228

lucie.gordon@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01752 334 650

Philip Thitchener

07920 190683

philip.thitchener@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01737 223 722

Andy Wheeler

07771 724625

A.Wheeler@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01743 399 000

Brian Boyd

07825 732007

brian.boyd@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483